I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 257-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

Rory J. Respicio
Chris M. Dueñas
T. C. Ada
V. Anthony Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
Sam Mabini, Ph.D.
T. R. Muña Barnes
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
M. Silva Taijeron

Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to congratulating the people of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), and the FSM Community on Guam, on the celebration of "FSM DAY", and on the commemoration of their Twenty-Fifth (25th) Year Anniversary as an Independent Nation; and to further extending sincere appreciation and *Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse* to the FSM citizens who have made Guam their home, and who have made positive contributions for the betterment of our island community.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

2 MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, "Micronesia" denotes the region in the Western-Central Pacific
- 4 which includes Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the

1 Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall

2 Islands, the Republic of Nauru, and the Republic of Kiribati; and

WHEREAS, over the years, there has been an increased interaction and enhancement of relationships among the people of the islands of Micronesia through regional organizations and forums, most notably the Association of Pacific Island Legislatures (APIL), and the Micronesia Chief Executives Summit (MCES); and

WHEREAS, the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is comprised of the Island States of Chuuk, Yap, Kosrae and Pohnpei; and they attained their Independence on November 3, 1986, and became a Sovereign State; and

WHEREAS, through their various FSM State Associations and Organizations, the Citizens of the Federated States of Micronesia residing on Guam are celebrating "FSM DAY" locally with a ceremonial event that will feature visiting Officials from the Federated States of Micronesia, local dignitaries, food, and cultural performances; and this special event sponsored by the FSM Consulate Office, the FSM Association of Guam, and FSM State Associations and Organizations has become an annual event; and

WHEREAS, many members of the various FSM State Associations and Organizations on Guam have been engaged in community projects and on-going community services that benefit the people of Guam, as many members of the FSM Community on Guam are proud to be strong supporters of our island community; and they have continued to enrich our proud tradition of diversity and endow our island of Guam with a unique and collective strength; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, congratulate the people of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), and the FSM Community on Guam, on the celebration of "FSM DAY", and on the

- 1 commemoration of their Twenty-Fifth (25th) Year Anniversary as an Independent
- 2 Nation; and does further extend a sincere Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse to the
- 3 FSM citizens living on Guam who have made positive contributions for the
- 4 betterment of our island community; and be it further
- 5 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules
- 6 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of
- 7 the same be thereafter transmitted to His Excellency Emanuel Mori, President of the
- 8 Federated States of Micronesia; to the Honorable Issac Figir, Speaker of the FSM
- 9 Congress; to the Honorable Robert Ruecho, FSM Consul General to Guam; and to the
- 10 Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 28TH DAY OF OCTOBER 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, ED.D

Speaker

MAN J. MISPILIO RORY I RESPICIO

RORY J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary